AMENDED EMERGENCY ORDER (Lenawee 2020-10) FOR CONTROL OF PANDEMIC
Required screening and social distancing measures at open businesses and operations subject to the Governor’s Executive Order 2020-77
Emergency Order (Lenawee 2020-08) imposed screening and social distancing measures at open businesses. With this order, Emergency Order Lenawee 2020-08 is rescinded. This order imposes similar restrictions, with changes to screening requirement, the addition of a requirement to wear a mask and extending the order until May 28, 2020.
This Order is made pursuant to Section 2453 of Michigan’s Public Health Code, 1978 PA 368 (MCL 333.2453). Effective May 7, 2020, Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer issued Executive Order No. 2020-77 which temporarily suspended activities that are not necessary to sustain or protect life continuing through May 28, 2020 at 11 :59 p.m. Exemptions include businesses and operations that employ critical infrastructure workers, which may continue in-person operations. Consistent with MCL 10.33 and MCL 30.405(3), a willful violation of Executive Order No. 2020-77 may constitute a misdemeanor.
The Local Health Officer has determined that additional restrictions are necessary to control the Coronavirus pandemic and to protect the public health of Lenawee County based on the following:
- A communicable disease, novel Coronavirus, which causes COVID-19, has been identified within Lenawee County and can be transmitted from person to person.
- In order to control and limit the spread of the Coronavirus, it is necessary to prevent and limit infected people from encountering uninfected people.
- The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention encourages "social distancing" measures. Social distancing is a conscious effort to reduce close contact between people to slow community transmission of the virus.
It is hereby ordered that businesses and operations remaining open under Michigan Executive Order 2020-77 take the following precautions:
- Develop and implement a daily screening program for all staff upon or just prior to reporting to work sites.
The screening procedures must include questions on the following:
New symptoms, including but not limited to: fever (100.4° or higher), dry cough (excluding chronic cough due to known medical reason or allergies), shortness of breath and sore throat. A verbal confirmation of lack of fever is sufficient if a touchless thermometer is unavailable.
Any close contact in the last 14 days with someone diagnosed with COVID-19.
Any international or domestic travel outside of Michigan in the last 14 days.
- Any "yes" response to the screening questions above requires the individual to be excluded.
- For at least 72 hours with no fever (that is three full days of no fever without use of medicine that reduces fevers) AND other symptoms have improved (for example, when your cough and shortness of breath have improved) AND at least 10 days have passed since your symptoms first appeared.
- 14 days if close contact with someone diagnosed with COVID-19. However, at an employer’s discretion they may allow an employee to continue to work provided the employee remains without symptoms and the employer implements the following additional precautions to protect the employee and the community:
- Employers should measure the employee’s temperature and assess symptoms each day before they start work. Ideally, temperature checks should happen before the individual enters the facility. A touchless thermometer, or a dedicated thermometer for the employee if not touchless, should be used. Sharing of any thermometer other than a touch less thermometer is strictly prohibited.
- As long as the employee does not have a fever or other symptoms, they should self-monitor under the supervision of their employer’s occupational health program or other programs in place to protect employee health and safety.
- If the employee begins to experience symptoms during the day, they should be sent home immediately.
- The employee should wear a face mask at all times while in the workplace for 14 days after last exposure. Employers can issue facemasks or can
approve employees’ supplied cloth face coverings in the event of shortages.
The employee should maintain at least six feet of distance from other people as work duties permit.
Beyond standard cleaning protocol, clean and disinfect all areas such as offices, bathrooms, common areas, and shared electronic equipment routinely known to be impacted by the exposed employee for 14 days after last exposure.
14 days following travel, unless that travel was due to commuting from a home location outside of Michigan or when crossing the Ohio border to seek essential services such as grocery shopping or medical care.
Essential workers engaged in travel related to supply chain and critical infrastructure are exempt from Part 1, Section b., Item iii.
Nothing in this order shall limit the operations of first responders, health care institutions, public health functions, pharmacies and other entities that are involved in the mitigation of risk during this pandemic.
Develop and implement a social distancing plan (at least 6 feet from another person) for employees working in shared spaces and customers waiting for services inside or outside of the business.
Limit capacity inside facilities to provide for social distancing between customers and employees. This includes, but is not limited to use of signs, contact barriers, entrance limits and specialized hours.
Require masks to be worn when workers cannot consistently maintain six feet of separation from other individuals in the workplace, and consider face shields when workers cannot consistently maintain three feet of separation from other individuals in the workplace.
Publish this order at all facility entrances so that it is visible to all employees and customers. The contents of this Order will be published to the members of the public at large by all reasonable means available.
This Order will become effective on May 14, 2020 at 11 :59 pm continuing through May 28, 2020 at 11 :59 pm. Those who disregard the order may be subject to a misdemeanor that includes up to 90 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $200.